welcome

Welcome to the new blog. Let’s get some formalities out of the way:

Name’s Jim. I’m 28 and based in Sun Prairie, WI (a Madison suburb). I’ve been working in and around Java since graduating in 2000 and am making the (hopefully) simple transition into Ruby, courtesy of my new employer. I’m really looking forward to leaving the large corporate environment for a while to work with a very small team of fantastic technologists.

My intention with this blog then is to provide some combination of journal/diary/thoughts on my transition from Java in a large corporate setting to Ruby with a startup. It should make for some interesting experiences and stories. We’ll see how public I make it; how regularly I update it; and how long I maintain it.

The new position starts in a couple weeks but I’m starting to ramp up on Ruby as of today, so wish me luck and I’ll keep you posted!

1 Comment

Filed under work

One response to “welcome

  1. You think you can just start a new blog and not tell me?

    This is unacceptable.

Leave a Reply

