Friend’s Price

A friend was asking the other day about getting a little site up and running for his small business.  Seems like the scope is going to be quite small (famous last words) and there are a few things I’ve been meaning to checkout lately, so I think I’m going to give it a stab.

Night one went something like this:

I got an invite (did they do invites?) to checkout Heroku really early on.  At the time, I remember devoting a night to it – working with an online editor (or maybe I was ssh’d in with vi or something?) and basically just getting a little “Hello World” up and running.  Ever since bumping into Jim Fiorato’s app/case study the other day, I’ve been meaning to revisit a bit.

It’s entirely likely that the friend’s site will actually not need anything but static HTML, but hey: I can always tune the caching and free hosting can’t be argued with, right?

So, I opened an account out at herku.com and grabbed the heroku gem; installed git (officially taking me off the short list of people that still hadn’t given it a chance) and set to work on getting my app out there.

I hadn’t written anything, so I was just wanting to throw the “welcome to Rails” app out there to make sure everything was setup correctly.  The first bump was some fun with SSH keys.  I’m actually still not sure exactly what the issue was but there seemed to be some commands that were respecting the path to the key that I had setup but some others that seemed to be looking in the default location (~/.ssh).  I am actually thinking now that I probably could have got around it with a little more effort put into the config but I ended up just using the default key location — no probs after that.

At that point + some very simple/standard Rails app config, it was incredibly early to push the app out there, setup a few tables (via migrations) and get to work.

A little effort into a pretty basic layout and we’re underway.  It’s nothing spectacular to checkout at the moment – generic copy, placeholder colors/blocks and text… but someday it’ll be a star.

Leave a comment

Filed under rails, Recommended Sites, Ruby

Leave a Reply

